Buy Feminized Hemp Seeds For The State Of Kansas
CBD Hemp Seeds For Growing In Kansas
It is currently only legal to grow hemp in Kansas under their existing research plan. Though the USDA approved its commercial industrial hemp plan in April 2020, it has not yet to gone into effect. Until it does, the only permissible use of hemp production is for research purposes only.
Get Licensed to Grow Hemp in Kansas
Those who wish to grow, process, transport, distribute, or otherwise handle hemp in Kansas must gain approval from the state’s Department of Agriculture. Applicants must submit with their application fingerprints and background checks of all participating parties and pay all associated fees. The application must also include contact information for all owners holding at least a 10 percent stake in the company; GPS coordinates of the physical location where the hemp will be grown or processed; and a brief description of the hemp processing methods to be used during the process.
Note that it is unlawful to grow, process, or handle hemp within 50 feet or a residential area or within one-quarter of a mile of any K-12 public school or other public location.
Those who wish to submit a Research License Application to study hemp in Kansas must provide detailed information regarding the land on which they will handle hemp, information about all motor vehicles involved in hemp transported, and a research proposal statement. Applicants must also submit a $200 non-refundable application fee and, upon Department approval, a $1000 annual license fee. Licenses expire on January 31 of the following year.
Those who wish to distribute hemp in Kansas must apply for a Research Distributor License and agree only to obtain hemp from licensed growers. The primary licensee must hold residency in Kansas to qualify and have no prior felony convictions within the last ten years. Likewise, those who wish to process hemp in Kansas must obtain a Research Processor License and meet the same qualifying conditions.
Other hemp licensing available in Kansas includes the State Educational Institution Research License (which requires no application fee) and an Administrative License. Learn more by visiting the state’s hemp licensing page.
Hemp Application Restrictions
Those who received a felony conviction within the last ten years do not qualify for a hemp license in Kansas. If any of the participating parties have a felony conviction within the previous ten years, the whole application is null and void, and the applicants will not receive reimbursement for any fees already paid to the Department.
Any false or misleading information on this form is considered a Class C misdemeanor, therefore, negating the process. Those who operate hemp facilities without the proper licensing, however, are guilty of a Class A nonperson misdemeanor, whereas subsequent convictions will result in a Level 9 nonperson felony.
Mandatory Hemp Reporting in Kansas
Licensees must submit a Planting Report within 15 days after planting either seeds, clones, or pre-germinated seed starts. These reports must identify the specific variety of hemp planted, the GPS coordinates of the land on which it will grow, and a statement of its intended use.
Those who wish to decline their hemp licensing or those who fail to plant their hemp by June 1 of the license year must submit a Voluntary Withdrawal Report.
Sampling and Testing
Kansas requires pre-harvest sampling to determine hemp crop compliance. At least 30 days before the projected harvest date, growers must submit a Pre-Harvest Report to the Department. If the grower plans to harvest two or more hemp crops, he or she must submit a Pre-harvest Report for each crop.
The Department will sample hemp crops no more than 15 days before the proposed harvest date free of charge. If the sample displays compliant THC levels (0.3 percent or less), the Department will issue a passing report of analysis. The grower will then have ten days after receiving the passing report to harvest all hemp material. Those who do not harvest within this ten-day window must either request a second sample and pay all applicable fees associated with testing or destroy the crop. Growers have seven days after the window passes to notify the Department of these actions.
The Department will issue a failed report for non-compliant plants and pass the information on to the proper authorities for further investigation. Growers may request a second sample at their own expense to either confirm or deny non-compliance. If a second sample maintains crop non-compliance, the grower must destroy all crops per Kansas hemp regulations and in the presence of appointed law enforcement officials.
Licensees must submit a Production Report within 30 days after harvest. Growers must take no action whatsoever while the Department conducts THC testing for hemp crops.
Kansas Hemp Distribution Restrictions
Under Kansas’s current hemp research plan, it is unlawful to distribute any parts of the hemp plant that resemble marijuana, including both flowers and leaves. It is also illegal to use hemp in any products intended for either animal or human consumption. Examples of prohibited consumable hemp products include but are not limited to smokable hemp flower, teas, oils designed for vaping, and so on. Until Kansas implements its commercial industrial hemp program, it will be unlawful to produce hemp for these purposes.
KS Planting Report Download
KS Pre-Harvest Report Download
KS Research Processor License Application Download
KS Voluntary Withdrawal Report Download
KS Research License Application Download
KS Research Distributor License Download
KS EDU Institution Research Permit Download
KS Production Report Download